NewsKaillie HumphriesElana Meyers Taylor

Elana Meyers Taylor And Kaillie Humphries Finish 1-2 In Monobob World Series

by Todd Kortemeier

Kaillie Humphries competes at the IBSF World Championships 2021 Altenberg Women's Monobob competition at the at Eiskanal Altenberg on Feb. 13, 2021 in Altenberg, Germany.


In their first monobob races since January, Elana Meyers Taylor and Kaillie Humphries returned right to the top of the podium.

This time it was Meyers Taylor taking the gold by .13 seconds over her fellow U.S. pilot. Laura Nolte of Germany was third, one thousandth of a second behind Humphries. It’s the third time since the 2017-18 season that U.S. sleds ran 1-2 in either the bobsled world cup or the Women’s Monobob World Series, with one of the other instances being Humphries topping Meyers Taylor on Jan. 23, 2021, in Königsee, Germany. 

It’s the first world series gold medal for Meyers Taylor, a three-time Olympic medalist in two-woman bobsled. The 37-year-old from Douglasville, Georgia, is also a two-time world champion in two-woman. Her 2015 title won with push athlete Cherrelle Garrett was the first women’s bobsled world championship for Team USA. 

Humphries now has finished either first or second in all three world series events she’s entered. The 36-year-old from Calgary, Alberta, previously represented Canada, winning two Olympic gold medals in two-woman bobsled, but has competed for Team USA since 2019. The decorated pilot has won two world championships in two-woman since joining Team USA as well as the 2021 monobob world title. 

The Women’s Monobob World Series will move stateside next to Park City, Utah, for races Nov. 23 and 24.

Todd Kortemeier is a sportswriter, editor and children’s book author from Minneapolis. He is a contributor to on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.
Team USA logo

Follow Us


United States Olympic and Paralympic Committee
  • Accessibility
  • Finance , opens in a new tab
  • Governance , opens in a new tab
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Site Map

© 2023 United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee. All Rights Reserved.